Posted on September 13, 2021

U.S. Extends Deportation Relief for Immigrants from 6 Countries

Ted Hesson and Mica Rosenberg, Reuters, September 9, 2021

The United States will extend deportation relief and work permits for more than 300,000 Salvadorans, Hondurans and other immigrants in the United States and enrolled in a program known as Temporary Protected Status (TPS), according to an announcement on Thursday.

The renewals for El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, and Sudan will last until Dec. 31, 2022, according to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, and were required as part of ongoing litigation over former President Donald Trump’s attempts to end most enrollment in the program.


The move will disappoint some Democrats and pro-immigrant activists who had pressed President Joe Biden’s administration to expand the program to include hundreds of thousands of additional immigrants instead of simply extending the program for those already enrolled.