Posted on February 9, 2010

New Conservative Club to Host Prominent Conservative Politician at MSU

MSU Sons of Liberty, February 8, 2010

For Immediate Release:

February 8, 2010

Jordan Zammit

Founder and President,

MSU Sons of Liberty

[email protected]

East Lansing, Mich.–The newly established and registered student organization at Michigan State University, the Sons of Liberty, will host Nick Griffin as a speaker from noon to 1:30 p.m. on February 18, 2010, to discuss how the fraud of man-made global warming is used by liberals to attack the sovereignty of nation-states. Griffin is the chairman of the British National Party–the fourth largest and fastest growing political party in the United Kingdom–and he is an elected parliamentarian of the European Parliament and current candidate for the U.K. Parliament.

Michigan State University will be Griffin’s first public event; he will also speak at Kenyon College in Gambier, OH, at the American Renaissance conference in Washington, D.C., and he is expected to make an appearance at the Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in Washington, D.C., as well.

Griffin is no stranger to MSU, for on October 28, 2008, Griffin was hosted by the now defunct chapter of the Young Americans for Freedom and attempted to deliver a speech on the threat of Islam and mass immigration. During the event, left-wing agitators attempted to drown out his message by shouting him down and by pulling fire alarms after beating an effigy of him outside. Immediately following his speech, a mob of armed leftists attacked people sympathetic with Griffin’s message with baseball bats, sticks, and canes ( The event was briefly covered on FOX New’s The Hannity & Colmes Show.

Jordan Zammit, a political science/pre-law freshman and founder and president of the Sons of Liberty, said, “It is an honor to host a distinguished speaker like Nick Griffin. His views will greatly contribute to the marketplace of ideas which is a fundamental aspect of a collegiate education.” The Sons of Liberty was named after the secretive pre-Revolutionary War group of American patriots–including Paul Revere, Patrick Henry, John Hancock, and John and Samuel Adams–who advocated for freedom and sovereignty.